it's3am,imustbelonely

back away slowly
the water is coming down
rushing . . . tumbling . . .
the need to cleanse all inside me
expunge the million words
to let loose the white waters of thought and word
and feel them flow wild and reckless
lacking direction
indeed, too frenzied to tame
"when the levee breaks
you'll have no place to go . . .
"
don't run away lest you draw my gaze
and get caught up in the flood
stand to the side and watch it flow past
catch a glimpse of my soul
capture a nuance and wrap it around you
it was surely meant for you
just know that it can't keep you warm
because i'm cold and hard
when the winter comes
lost in the deep blue
trapped under the ice
until the spring flowers
bring forth the thaw
for they be the cause
not the effect
they are the confetti thrown
that starts the party
and i'm swept away again
from where the three rivers meet
to the salted pool of tears
where all my love leads me


entry seventy-four written 2006-09-29

*host*